Forums

Forums / STEM / Activities related to Candy! (11/03/19)

STEM

Activities related to Candy! (11/03/19)

Author Post
Vanessa Pham Vanessa Pham 2045 Points

Hello Science Educators!

My name is Vanessa Pham and I am currently a pre-service teacher studying Teaching Methods of Science. Recently in my Teaching Methods of Science class, I learned that I can open up interest in the lesson to the students by using something they can relate to, like candy. From this topic alone, we came up with several ways of graphing and classifying as a STEM connection. What other activities using STEM-based skills could I use in my own classroom based on candy?

Thank you!

Vanessa Pham

UMBC 2020 Psychology BA and Elementary Education Certification

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

Chromatography of M&M dyes 

That activity was always a big hit in my classroom (when I taught face-to-face, I'm 100% online now). 

Marina Higa Marina Higa 290 Points

I totally agree! Implementing lessons with candy is always a motivator for students. It's unfortunate that the school I'm currently teaching at does not allow us to give our students candy :( Good luck!

Jennifer Dunn Jennifer Dunn 1270 Points

Hi,

When it comes to getting and keeping little ones engaged, candy definitely gives you a huge advantage. I've found tons of activities with candy online (science experiments with skittles, gummi bears, oreo moon phases, etc.) Heres one I found: https://www.sciencekiddo.com/candy-math-science/

Pinterest is a great source, of course. Have fun!

Jennifer D

John Clay John Clay 370 Points

Hi!