Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / 5E Lesson Plan on Consumers Producers and Decomposers- searching for feedback

Early Childhood

5E Lesson Plan on Consumers Producers and Decomposers- searching for feedback

Author Post
Anayvette Ramon Anayvette Ramon 790 Points

Hello! My name is Anayvette Ramon. I am a Senior at the University of Houston. I am currently a 4th grade student teacher in Lamar CISD. I teach math, science and social studies. 

I am currently working on creating and refining a upcoming 5E lesson plan on producers, consumers, and decomposers. One of the ideas I currently have in mind in order to engage my students is that I will start my lesson by asking them if they can share what they ate for dinner the night before. After my students have shared a few things, I will select one of the food items and draw a T-Chart on the board. On the T-Chart I will separate the components of the meal into ingredients that come from plants, and ingredients that do not come from plants, such as meat. Then, I will ask my students, 'If we know that plants create a lot of the different ingredients we eat every day, what is a word that we could use in order to describe them?' (Producers). After I have heard a few of my students’ responses, I will ask them one more question, 'On the other hand, we also know that we rely on animals to obtain energy. Is there a name we can give to the types of organisms that rely on other sources for energy?” (consumers).  

I would like to receive some feedback regarding this idea. Is there anything I could add to make it better, and incorporate or introduce the idea of decomposers?

Peggy Ashbrook Peggy Ashbrook 10953 Points