Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Science is present, how do I continue that?

Early Childhood

Science is present, how do I continue that?

Author Post
Gabriella Fiorino Gabriella Fiorino 395 Points

Hello! I am a college student in an Early Childhood program. We are configuring science lesson plans for the pre-k classrooms we visit. The children are already strongly interested in the world of science and ask many questions. With my lesson plans, I want to open up more questions to them while also continuing to their interests rather than hindering them. Are there any suggestions of lessons you would suggest?

Jessica Fountain Jessica Fountain 2880 Points

Hi Gabriella,

I am a college student as well and recently learned about Early education and science and how important it is to incorporate science in not only elementary classrooms but in early education classrooms as well. Recently we talked about play and how important it is for children to play and have experiences when learning. We did a lot of centers in class and learned different ways of incorporating science. As students are already presented with science, you can continue with what you are doing and introduce new vocabulary. There are also different centers of play that kids can learn, even at the age of 3 and 4! Water tables are a great learning center. Students can also learn about air and how to make things float using air at a center where they connect PVC pipes and an air blower so see how blown air works. 

I hope some of those ideas help you,

Jessica

Madison Steele Madison Steele 2380 Points

Gabriella,