Forums

Forums / Life Science / AP Biology

Life Science

AP Biology

Author Post
Mary Ann Ng Mary Ann Ng 3385 Points

How do your AP Bio classes look like ( from an instructional planning perspective)? This is my first year of teaching AP Bio. School started 2 weeks ago for us. I have been adjusting instruction according to the output at the end of class, class assessments and student feedback. There's been a lot of adjusting going on --it feels like being a first year teacher again without the classroom management issues. Based on these two weeks, this is going to be how my 2hr block will look like next week. 1.DO NOW ( 10 min )-> wherein they answer an AP test question 2.Talking about the Do Now question (5 min) 3.Direct Instruction (15-25 minutes)-- I did not want to do this, but the students requested that I do. I am going to focus on important and difficult-to-understand concepts. 4.Test ( 15-25 min)--This one they also suggested the time limit. 5. Inquiry for the rest of the period-> could be lab, modeling,etc. 6. Reflection/debrief I will also include pair share/class discussions throughout the lesson. I haven't really been debriefing in my classes, this is something I'd like to work on this year. Overall, I'm overwhelmed and stressed due to AP Bio planning. But I feel a bit better about the course when I got to talk at length with some students. We talked about our respective concerns about the course and came up with action plans. I know there is an AP Bio community and listserv on the college board website. This is one group I need to join, but I'm a bit confused as to where and how exactly do I join this community.

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points