Forums

Forums / Next Generation Science Standards / Standards, standards everywhere!

Next Generation Science Standards

Standards, standards everywhere!

Author Post
Kathryn Borton Kathryn Borton 350 Points

Hey all, I went to the Iowa Science Teachers Conference yesterday. I found the opportunity both educational and renewing. Still, I left a little confused and hope you all can shed some light on the topic for me. So far, I have heard about three different types of standards: -The Iowa Core Curriculum (obviously this only applies to those in Iowa) -The Next Generation Science Standards -The Common Core Science Standards I am confused about who has developed the last two groups of standards and how they are different. Which standards are we expected to use? When will these groups of standards be implemented? What resources will we have to support implementing these standards? I feel like, in the short time I have been a teacher, I am continually hearing about what is coming down the pipe. I would love to know what this actually means for me and my instruction. Please include any copies of these standards that you might have. I would really like to compare the ideas to begin understanding what is going on. Thanks! Katie Borton

John Pappas John Pappas 795 Points