Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Cheating

New Teachers

Cheating

Author Post
Olivia Barnett Olivia Barnett 448 Points

I am a part time student teacher who is consistently seeing a variety of forms of cheating occuring in the classroom. I have corrected on instances that I have seen it occur. Many of these instances include when working as a group on a lab. The students are encouraged to talk about the concepts together but many times that turns into one student who knows and understanding the material filling out their sheet and giving it to the other students to copy. How can I combat this (other than explaining that this is not what group work is for and the next time the individuals are caught both of them will get a zero on their assignment)?

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

Great question, Olivia, and this will be something you will grapple with your entire career!  If you ever do have the sure-fire answer to this please share it with the world! Keep up the messages about plagiarizing work.  To strike home the message I handed out the forms that university students attach to their assignments declaring that their work is not plagiarized on penalty of zero grade, failure, or explusion: https://umanitoba.ca/faculties/science/resources/Science_HonestyDeclarationIndividual_June2013.pdf

What is your purpose for group work?  In real life, no group project requires each of the members to submit their own, individualized copy of their group's work.  So, accept one copy for the group. But, take a jig-saw approach.  You can insist on different sections of your lab reports being done by different members. Not too many students will want to do two sections just so another can sit and watch.