Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Sensory Issues

Elementary Science

Sensory Issues

Author Post
Bethany O'Clair Bethany O'Clair 80 Points

Hello!

My name is Bethany O'Clair and I am a pre-service teacher at Wartburg College in Waverly, IA. I am currently working towards a special education endorsement and have been thinking a lot about ways to incorporate science in my special education classroom. Knowing that some students have sensory issues and that science classrooms can be distracting, what are some ways to reduce the distractions for students? Also, what are some hands-on activities that would be good to incorporate whilst avoiding potential sensory issues?

Thank you in advance!

Bethany O'Clair

Pre-service Teacher

Wartburg College

Kiana Wilson Kiana Wilson 2065 Points

Hi Bethany! My name is Kiana Wilson and I am a pre-service teacher at the University of Northern Iowa studying elementary and special education as well! Sensory issues are something that we have talked a lot about in my special education classes but I haven't thought a lot about how students could have sensory issues with science. In special education, all we talk about is differentiation and creating environments for our students to feel safe, capable, and successful. When teaching content to students with disabilities I don't think this really changes, I think it becomes more important. For example, if a student has a sensory issue with sounds and we're exploding something in science I would not make the student participate. Maybe I would record the experiment and then play it for the student with little to no sound. I believe it is all about creating positive learning environments for the student and knowing the student's needs and being able to differentiate and accommodate for that. 

Hope this helps! 

Kiana Wilson

Kristine Pasker Kristine Pasker 2875 Points

Hello Bethany,