Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Advice for Teaching Science With Limited Time

Elementary Science

Advice for Teaching Science With Limited Time

Author Post
KyDaisia Holmes KyDaisia Holmes 280 Points

Hello, I am a pre-service teacher and wanted to know any tips and advice for teaching a science lesson and fully covering the topic within a short amount of time. In the area that I am currently attending school there are elementary schools who are alternating days and alternating between science and social studies. For the future, how can I plan better where I am able to cover a full science lesson within a short amount of time and with limited days of teaching the content to the students ? 

Kyla Nelson Kyla Nelson 80 Points

Hello! I completely understand your situation. My district has limited science instruction to 20 minutes a day and it is very difficult to give quality science lessons in that short time frame. My adivce is to include science concepts in other lessons and make cross curricular connections. This way, you can cover core concepts during designated science time, but still inlcude the topic in other lessons. For example, many science concepts require data collection and interprepation. Once you have taught the core concept, you can include making graphs in your math lesson and tie it to the science instruction.

Stephanie Matteo Stephanie Matteo 975 Points