Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Elementary STEM

Elementary Science

Elementary STEM

Author Post
Matthew Hartman Matthew Hartman 2865 Points

Hello Elementary Science teachers!

I'm in the process of trying to learn more about what elementary students are capable of in STEM. In your experience, could your students conduct and experiment? Could it be one they developed? How do you tie in real-world problems? Do you let your students ask their own questions and then help them find the answers? Or solve their own problems through engineering design? All of my work has been done with middle and high school students so I'd like to know what elementary students are capable of in STEM. Give me your thoughts. What's too much? And what's not enough? Because sometimes I think we underestimate. But you work with these kids every day, do what can they do?

Thanks!

-Matt

Mark Parker Mark Parker 2525 Points

Hello Matthew,

I'm a first grade teacher, and I believe elementary students can conduct expexperiements, even their own. I would begin giving them experiments first and then teach them how to create some based on testable questions they come up with naturally. I gained alot of insight from one of NSTA's 'Science and Children' magazine articles entitled 'First Graders Can Do Science.' It features a teacher that takes her students through this very process. I'm still in the process of learning and improving my teaching is this area. Best of luck to you as you gather more information. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

Bethany O'Clair Bethany O'Clair 80 Points

Hi Matt!