Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Keeping students attention during a science lesson?

Elementary Science

Keeping students attention during a science lesson?

Author Post
Rebecca Leahy Rebecca Leahy 2065 Points

Hello fellow science lovers! 

I am a pre-service teacher about to finish up my classes and begin my student teaching (yay!). Recently I had to do a lesson with a group of second graders in my service learning classroom and I did a 'Life Cycle of a Plant' activity where we are growing lima beans in plastic bags with wet paper towel and comparing if the rate of growth is faster when the bean is placed in direct sunlight or in no sunlight (a closet). The students had a bunch of fun doing the lesson with me but I went way over time because I had so much trouble keeping the classes attention! Many of them kept talking or pulling apart their seeds and were not doing the work in their science journals that I assigned them. I know they enjoyed the lesson but I don't know what I could have done better to bring the classes attention back when needed- I used the techniques their teacher uses but still had trouble keeping their eyes on me and their mouths closed during instruciton. I love that they got so excited to participate but how can I make sure they're having a good time but still listening to me when I need them to and doing their work when they should be?

Thanks!

Karen Woodford Karen Woodford 865 Points