Forums

Forums / University/College Professors / Becoming a College Professor

University/College Professors

Becoming a College Professor

Author Post
Matthew Mellor Matthew Mellor 980 Points

Hi!

I'm a new teacher (I teach middle school science and will be teaching HS physics this coming year). 

Would anyone be willing to share their background? How did you become a college professor? What would you recommend to a HS teacher who might want to teach at the college level in the future?

Thank you!

I'm a former engineer with a BS in mechanical engineering from MIT.

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

Matthew - I started out my career in education by teaching at the high school level. After 1 year, I decided to accept an adjunct role at a nearby community college. It was a laboratory, so the hours were long and the pay was laughable ($800 per semester for 25+ students in a a 3-hr lab that met once a week for 16 weeks ... I did all my own lab prep work and grading). I kept up the dual jobs - high school and adjunct work for another 2 years. I knew wanted to shift into higher education. I went straight for a Ph.D. in my discipline rather than a master's degree. This was a financial decision ... I was going to be out tens of thousands of dollars for a M.S. but was able to secure a full scholarship with a healthy stipend for a Ph.D. program. I strongly suggest this route if you do not yet have a graduate degree - many programs allow you to leave the program with a master's degree if you reach a certain point in the program. 

I've been teaching full time in higher education since 2012 and I love it! Things are really changing right now, but I was ahead of the shift as I've been teaching fully online since 2016 :) 

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92246 Points

Hi Matthew,