Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Preservice Teacher

Elementary Science

Preservice Teacher

Author Post
Kati Elmore Kati Elmore 180 Points

I am a preservice teacher super excited about actually getting in the classroom. I was wondering if you guys had any tips about being a first year teacher in a science classroom? Thank in advance.

Nancy Kaur Pak Singh Nancy Kaur Pak Singh 2900 Points

Hi Kati, I know how you feel. I am a pre service teacher and I am excited that I will be in the classroom soon. I was teaching for 15 years before deciding to do a graduate programme and I think that being prepared and arming yourself with as much information and activities that would make a lesson interesting would be the best way to go. Every classroom change as kids never remain the same even if you get the same class at a different grade, the own worldview and experience will evolve and as teachers I think that we need to always be prepared. Hope this helps.

Lisa Silva Lisa Silva 1065 Points

I am also a preservice teacher and would love to hear more advice from experienced teachers.

Sandy Trejo Sandy Trejo 1415 Points

Hi, I am also a pre-service teacher and I love it. I would like to hear different tips and strategies I can use for my future classroom.

Arsema Ghirmai Arsema Ghirmai 1485 Points

I am a preservice teacher, but all of my professors have been in the schools for atlas ten years. The best advice they have given me, for when I do lessons in the classroom, is to plan for extra time. Teacher's should incorporate time that allows students to engage in unstructured learning. This allows them to share and respect each other's ideas, as well spark an intrinsic motivation that can't be cultivated through teacher structured instruction. I hope everyone can find time in lesson for students to explore their thoughts with others. Thanks for the prompt!

Kayla Dornbusch Kayla Dornbusch 1565 Points