Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Sub Plans for High School Chemistry

Chemistry

Sub Plans for High School Chemistry

Author Post
Rebekah Carter Rebekah Case 220 Points

Hello,

I am a first year teacher and we need to turn in sub plans for a few days. We are on a hybrid schedule (42 minutes three days a week and 88 minutes two days a week). At this moment, I only have one good sub plan (from storybehindthescience.org). Does anyone have any good lessons that a sub could facilitate? Our district does not allow us to show videos on sub days.

Thanks!

TraciAnn Harada TraciAnn Harada 1540 Points

I think it depends on what you are teaching but you could have students review using a jeopardy game. They could would in pairs or in groups and write their answer on a small white board. Then the sub would just have to keep score.http://www.quia.com/cb/36842.html Or you could have the students play element bingo. Give each student a blank card and have them fill it in with any elements. You can have the all prompts for the sub to read: (example - has 6 protons [carbon], halogen in the 3rd period [bromine]) You could also create a hand out on these http://sciencespot.net/Media/elempnsansw.pdf I hope some of these ideas were helpful.

Vanessa Cannon Vanessa Cannon 1660 Points