Forums

Forums / Rural Teachers / Questioning

Rural Teachers

Questioning

Author Post
Kristi Brockschmidt Kristi Brockschmidt 2440 Points

I'm a volunteer science teacher in a small rural school. I've been working to bring NGSS into our classroom. One of the challenges I've noticed over the last year is how to create genuine curiosity and questioning. I'm sure we've all run into the kid that had a very vivid imagination that generates a myriad of questions. One of these types in our classroom is more interested in blowing things up and expressing power. His questions usually end up going into: "would these chemicals explode if we mixed them together?" or smooshing caterpillars just to see them ooze and squish. (Secretly I hope these students don't have access to matches and firecrackers at home...) Now in some contexts these types of questions may in fact have scientific value, but in a school context it isn't really contributing to learning and the genuine scientific experience. Typically I end up focusing the class on the task at hand. I'm curious though how you've all directed this type excessive 'questioning' without stifling their curiosity? To them, investigating the parts of a plant or looking at the structure of an insect through a spy glass is 'boring' because it's not 'exciting' enough. Thoughts?

Heather Peacock Heather Peacock 1400 Points