Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Social Media and Teaching

New Teachers

Social Media and Teaching

Author Post
Hannah Speed Hannah Speed 230 Points

Hello,

I am currently in my last year of my teaching program and I follow a lot of teachers on Instagram and love how they share ideas for others to use. I use social media and want to incorporate teaching into it, but I am not sure of the best way to do so. I need help and tips. Do the rules for student confidentialy vary from school to school, and is it best to create a page focused entirely for teaching and teaching resources only! Let me know your tips and strategies with involving social media in your teaching. 

Hannah 

Gabe Kraljevic Gabe Kraljevic 4564 Points

Hello Hannah,

There may be slight variations in confidentiality policies between school districts but, in general, we all need to follow federal and state statues on privacy. In short, people outside your classroom should not be able to identify your students in pictures or words and should not have communication access to individual students.

With respect to using social media in your classroom you must check with your administrators who will be well-versed in the school district’s policies regarding what and how you can use it with your students. Most districts will likely have media release forms for families to allow or deny the school permission to post photos, work or names of their children. Don’t assume that all parents are ok with you posting information that can identify their children. Only use social media if you have a plan to use it educationally.