Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Outdoor activities

Early Childhood

Outdoor activities

Author Post
Christa Anaya Christa Anaya 385 Points

What outdoor activities would be good for sensory development in early childhood?

Daisy Gomez Daisy Gomez 615 Points

Hello Christa! A great outdoor activity that can be done for sensory development is the Rainbow Soap Foam Bin. For this activity all you need is a large bin, water, soap, and food coloring. You're basically creating a bubbly foam by mixing the soap and water together, then painting it a solid color with food coloring. These steps will be repeated to get as many colors as you'd like to have. Once all foams are colored and ready, you will place them into the large bin. The students can then play and get creative by pointing out colors they already know and make new ones by mixing the foam with their hands. 

Alexandria Monahan Alexandria Monahan 380 Points

Hi Christa!

I am a pre-service teacher, but I actually work in a daycare whenever I am not at school. During the summertime, we try to do as many outdoor activities as we can when it's nice outside. Two event days that my students really enjoy are mud or water days! during these days we bring out plastic kiddie pools and fill them up with water or mud (usually bagged soil mixed with water) and the kids get to play with them for most of the afternoon! I believe having a 'mud day' would be a really fun sensory activity since the students can feel and smell it! You can also choose different toys that they students could use to play in the mud pools too!

Hope this helps!

Lexi Monahan

Jessica Jones Jessica Jones 465 Points

I love taking my students outside. You can take your students and have various walks. You pick what you want them to look or listen for then you can go back in the room and have a classroom discussion about the walk. 

Anne Lowry Anne Lowry 8543 Points