Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Flexable Teaching

New Teachers

Flexable Teaching

Author Post
Danielle Combs Danielle Combs 1785 Points

How flexable is to flexable? Obviously in a classroom nothing is going to go as plan all the time, however, how flexable should we really be as teachers?

Katie Barker Katie Barker 3530 Points

I think teachers need to be flexible in all aspects of their teaching. Behavior wise I think teachers need to make sure they have clear cut expectations for their class, but be able to make changes depending on different, sometimes difficult, situations. In all other aspects of teaching, I think teachers need to be extremely flexible because things don't always go as planned and they need to be able to 'roll with the punches'.

Kayla Gaddie Kayla Gaddie 4195 Points

I think flexibility will be a necessity but we will have to maintain our expectations and rules!

Molly McGinnis Molly McGinnis 2415 Points

As a developing teacher, I never really knew what flexibility meant until I started actually teaching my lessons and interacting with students. After teaching several lessons, I realized that flexibility is something that just happens. I think that in the classroom flexibility really means that you can identify if something is not working and how you react to that. Somethings you think will be great during a lesson might completely fail when you're teaching them. Flexibility is just how you handle that situation.

Since I am a developing special educator, I wanted to share this resource with you all. This resource not only benefits special educators but general educators as well.
The Flexible Classroom: Helping students with mental health challenges to thrive.

Enjoy!

Michelle Mattern Michelle Mattern 1775 Points