Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Gathering Resources/Classroom Funding

New Teachers

Gathering Resources/Classroom Funding

Author Post
Alan Samuels Alan Samuels 37205 Points

I am a pre-service teacher and will be student teaching in the spring. I think the learning center is a great tool so far with all the resources and PD tools and am glad that this web community is available for science education. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience finding sponsors, searching for cheap materials like through auctions, sales or something or working with businesses such as Walmart to donate materials for classrooms or schools? Essentially, I am asking what are some good ways to get resources and materials from the community/businesses or what are good social connections to make, especially for a science classroom?

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Asking for funds is one thing, but if you're asking businesses or other agencies to donate materials, equipment, or technology, here are a few things to consider. http://nstacommunities.org/blog/2010/05/19/donated-materials/ Mary B

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

Garage sales are great place to get materials for your classroom. Also the Dollar Tree stores have lots of things for the classroom for just $1. If you are going to a business, it is best to have an introductory letter from your principal introducing you as a teacher and what project you plan to use the funds or materials for. As you said, WalMart will donate materials sometimes and so will Home Depot.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points