Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Master's Degree, Teach, or BOTH?

New Teachers

Master's Degree, Teach, or BOTH?

Author Post
Nicolas Vierra Nicholas Vierra 855 Points

Aloha All,

My name is Nick Vierra and I'm currently a preserive teacher at University of Hawai'i at Manoa. Currently, I'm undecided with which direction to go in terms of attaining my masters degree, jumping into the field of teaching or doing both simultaneously, next Fall. What do you all think would be the best idea? 

Thank you,

Nick Vierra

Sierra Wayson Sierra Wayson 7745 Points

Hi Nick!

Personally, I decided that the best path for this career was to gain my master's before starting to teach.  This will allow me to not only have a higher starting salary, but will also prevent me from having to teach and go to school at the same time - I know that many teachers are successful at doing this, but it did not seem wise for me.  It seems like it might be difficult to do both simultaneously, but I think the decision has to ultimately be made based on reflecting you have done about your strengths and abilities.  If you know that you struggle to both be in school and work, you wouldn't choose to do both.  I would encourage you to really think about what type of schedule and career timeline you want and which one is most condusive to your personality and goals.

Best of luck!

Sierra 

James Johnson James Johnson 95308 Points

Aloha, Nick.  I took a teacher workshop at UH Manoa called the Astrobiology Laboratory Institute for Instructors (ALI'I) through the IFA  for four summers and loved the campus.  You're in a good place.  Love Oahu.  Ate dinner at Dukes most nights and we took all the teachers to Top of Waikiki on Kalakaua for our social.