Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Using Picture Books in Science

Elementary Science

Using Picture Books in Science

Author Post
Presley Elliott Presley Elliott 500 Points

Hi, my name is Presley and I am currently a sophomore Early Childhood Education major! We just talked about incorporating picture books in my science methods class so I had to read this blog post 'Finding New Ways to Use Picture Books in the Classroom', and I agree with everything she said! By starting a science lesson by reading your class a book that relates to the lesson, you are encouraging your students to use ELA skills all while teaching science at the same time! One of the things we have talked about in my class is the importance of cross-subject integration and I think adding picture books into your lessons is such an engaging and easy way to do that. 

Cassidy McBreen Cassidy McBreen 240 Points

Hi Presley,

I'm currently going to school myself to get my masters in Early Childhood Education and Special Education. I have come away from a lot of my classes with the idea that teaching one subject does not have to focus on soley building skills in that one specific subject. I think it is important to show students that Science, and any other subject for that matter, can and ususally do involve a lot of cross subject intergration. While building a skill in one subject and one subject only is possible, it may not be practical when we have so many chances to involve other subjects.

Kaitlin Chillemi Kaitlin Chillemi 260 Points