Forums

Forums / Professional Learning / Using interactive whiteboards

Professional Learning

Using interactive whiteboards

Author Post
Suzanne Garcia Suzanne Garcia 735 Points

I am searching for online training in how to use interactive whiteboards effectively. I am an elementary level science teacher for an independent school. We have an eno whiteboard so the many resources for SmartBoards are not applicable. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Sandy Gady Sandy Gady 43175 Points

Generally the website for your board has videos that help you set the board up, calibrate it and then generally provides you with some kind of basic ideas on how to use the board. I did a Google search and came up with this link as a place to start. http://www.polyvision.com/resources/video-tutorials. As for overall training as to how to use the board effectively in teaching, there isn’t a whole lot out there. The technology is still pretty new and lots of us are still in the trial and error mode. There are some books out there, but you are correct, they are very product specific versus an overall how to use the board in a variety of ways. Almost everything I’ve seen deal with Language Arts and some Math, mostly at an elementary level versus upper level Math and Science. A resource I have found useful is Tech Learning, an online “magazine” you can subscribe to. When I search for Interactive Whiteboard Training, this is the list of URL’s for the search, http://www.techlearning.com/searchgsa.aspx. As with all resources, there are bits and pieces that can be useful.

Sue Garcia Sue Garcia 42675 Points