Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / Space Station on the Moon.

Earth and Space Science

Space Station on the Moon.

Author Post
Michael Reigner Michael Reigner 345 Points

Hello everyone, I am currently a student teacher for a eighth grade Science class. We will be doing a unit on are solar system and I had an idea that would require the students to develop a space station on the moon. My idea is to divide the class into three separate groups; marketing team, design team, and resource team. Because I am only a student teacher, I really have no idea how this will go. So, I was wondering if anyone would like to give me some ideas, warnings, or advice. Also I was thinking of trying to keep this as open-ended as possible. First, I really do not know what I can expect from eighth graders. Second, I feel if I provide them with a sample of what I expect than I either limit their creativity or overwhelm them. I plan to continuously monitor their progress so that they will certainly fulfill my expectations. All suggestions are welcomed and thank-you.

Ken Liu Ken Liu 2000 Points

Here is a NASA lesson for students to build and design a plant growth chamber for life on the moon (could be adapted to another planet, if needed). Very much an inquiry lesson. You can even order seeds that have actually been to outer space. I personally haven't done this lesson, as I'm a new teacher and seem to be already running out of time in this 4th and last qtr. Good luck. http://www.nasa.gov/audience/foreducators/plantgrowth/home/index.html

Shanae Hatchell Shanae Hatchell 5820 Points