Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Science to Elementary Kids

Early Childhood

Science to Elementary Kids

Author Post
Karen Adame Karen Adame 350 Points

Hello everyone I am a student in the education program at UTRGV, and I would like to know is what kind of science experiments or assignments is appropriate for children between grades kinder-2nd grade. I know in the older elementary grades we teach more about planets, gravity, earth, rocks, etc.. but what topics are age appropriate or how can I teach about the rocks for example and make it age appropriate for younger children?

Elyse Juarez Elyse Juarez 725 Points

Hi Karen! I am also a student in the education program, but at Wartburg College. A way you can teach a lesson about rocks is talking about the differences, the feeling, hardness, and maybe even smell. You could also compare colors too! An example to incorporate with this is maybe have students use a tool to scratch at the rocks, and they could experiement off that. I hope this helps!

Kristin Preast Kristin Preast 1670 Points

For making it appropriate for younger children I would go outside if there are rocks nearby. Have them or you gather different rocks and compare. I would also talk about water because it is an everyday essential. We are made of water, drink it, bathe, cook with it. There are many different forms of water like ice, rain, or snow.

Mary Lynn Hess Mary Hess 12158 Points

Karen,

Any type of hands-on experiences are ideal using the five senses. Consider observing, comparing, classifying, measuring, communicating, and predicting. Here are a few recources to pull from.

Have fun!

Attachments

Forest Schools (External Website)

How Does Your Garden Grow? (Article)

Butterfly Activity (External Website)

Outdoor Benefits (External Website)

What sparks curiosity, wonder, and awe? (video) (External Website)

Brittany Goss Brittany Goss 210 Points