Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Keeping Up With All Subjects

New Teachers

Keeping Up With All Subjects

Author Post
Karolina Baltierrez Karolina Baltierrez 1700 Points

I am a student teacher and I have noticed that it is very difficult to keep up with all subjects that a teacher needs to teach (my cooperating teacher is behind in science). Sometimes, more time is dedicated to one subject over another because of time. Teachers don't have enough time to cover everything. What are some ways to help me prevent this in my real classroom? How can I teach all subjects without lagging behind? or if I get behind, what are some ways that I can catch up (situation of my cooperating teacher)?

Marion Harvey Marion Harvey 1010 Points

Karolina,  I fear the exact same thing. I know my 5th graders are falling behind in socials studies and writing due to the structure of the school district. I think it's important to get in a school that values all subjects and plan ahead during the summer!

Maranda Mangual Maranda Mangual 1040 Points

I think a great way to ensure that you don't fall behind in teaching all subjects is to plan thematic units. Even though it takes more planning it is beneficial because it ensures that the teacher is teaching all subjects they are suppose to.

Lauren Gray Lauren Gray 590 Points

I have the exact same problem! I feel like science and social studies are getting pushed out for other subjects. I feel science is just as important as all the other subjects and deserves the same time as attention as math and literacy.

Stephanie Bravo Stephanie Bravo 1415 Points