Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Modeling Chemistry via the AMTA Curriculum

Chemistry

Modeling Chemistry via the AMTA Curriculum

Author Post
Andrew Jewett Andrew Jewett 333 Points

Hello. I am an upcoming teacher, student teaching chemistry in Ohio. For my teaching, I am drawing from the modeling curriculum made available by the American Modeling Teachers Association (AMTA). For my student teaching, I will be drawing heavily off of both the curriculum made availabe by the AMTA, as well as my cooperating teacher's experience using this method.

However, I am still looking for and open to any advice from those experienced it before I start student teaching full time in the spring. I will be doing around Units 4-8 of AMTA's Modeling Curriculum. Thank you for any input you are willing to give.

Chris Leverington Chris Leverington 4035 Points

Unit 4 is very strange and is a sort of hodge podge of information.  When I've done this unit in the past the students have struggled greatly with the concepts in the last two worksheets.  The Combining Volumes of Gases and then the Mass ratio stuff.   We did find on the last worksheet if we took off the wrong scenario...students were able to pick it up better.  I get why they have that there, but it just makes it more confusing.

We're actually switching unit 5 and 6 this year to see if going bonding, formula writing...then moles, reactions stoich is beter than moles, formulas/bonding, reactions, stoich.  

As a forewarning..the modeling curriculum seems to make naming compunds/writing formulas seem like a 1 or 2 day task...but its more like 1 or 2 weeks. 

I was kind of forced into the modeling curriculum and there are some things I like and many things I don't.  I supplement the curriculum quite a bit with other labs and activities to help reinforce the ideas.

Andrew Jewett Andrew Jewett 333 Points

Thank you for all of your input.