Forums

Forums / Informal Science / Discourse/Syntax

Informal Science

Discourse/Syntax

Author Post

Hello,

My name is Andrea and I am a student at Dominican University. I am pursuing a career in Elementary Education and I need help on how I can refine my discourse/syntax. Any tips will be appreciated! 

Language Function: 

Students will observe the behaviors of multiple objects as they are affected by gravity.

Students will explain the result of the class experiment with the support of their observations.

Syntax:

On their assessment and in their small groups, students will use vocabulary words in writing and verbally to make predictions and explain their observations.

Discourse:

“The paper will hit the ground last because it has more air resistance.”

“Gravity pulls on everything with the same force.”

“My hypothesis is that the paper ball will fall faster than the sheet of paper.”

Standards:

NGSS: (3-PS2-2) Make observations and/or measurements to produce data to serve as the basis for evidence for an explanation of a phenomenon or test a design solution.

We included a vocabulary word bank and their definitions on the students' activity sheet. After today's lesson, I went through the activity sheet and included sentence stems for my students to describe and explain their observations. 'I observed____________________.' 'I think this happened because _________________.'

Marlenee Villasenor Marlenee Villasenor 617 Points

Hi Andrea!

My name is Marlenee Villasenor and I am also a senior in the Elementary Education program at SIU.