Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Hands on Science

Early Childhood

Hands on Science

Author Post
Laura Rosales Laura Rosales 290 Points

We know that children under the age of 7 love hands on activities and projects but sometimes there is not enough resources or places to visit so that they can get the full experiences of a real life-based science lesson. What resources do you recommend for our students to have an enriching and real life science experience?

Estela Salvador Estela Salvador 50 Points

Hello Laura Rosales! At the moment I am a student preparing to become a bilingual teacher EG-6. I totally agree with you children like and learn much better doing hands on activities. Regarding your question I would recommend going outside the school and explore what's outside (plants, insects, climate, and more) you will get surprised the adventure of exploring and learning in their own campus. I hope my suggestion helps you . As I previously mentioned I am a student and I have to do lesson plans for practice, what lesson plan format would you recommend me or which one will help me better in the future?

Peggy Ashbrook Margaret Ashbrook 10953 Points

I encourage early childhood educators to use the book series, Young Scientists, to learn about science inquiry in a variety of settings. Worms, Shadows, and Whirlpools is another very helpful book. All these books have examples of teacher's documentation of their work with young children.
Thinking BIG, Learning BIG by Marie Faust Evitt is a wonderful resource of science activities that integrate math and literacy.
My books of science activities might be helpful as well: Science Learning in the Early Years and Science Is Simple

The free National Science Teachers Association's blog, The Early Years, is another place to find activity ideas and resources.
Best wishes,
Peggy

Megan Doty Megan Doty 11847 Points