Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Teaching Atomic Structure

Chemistry

Teaching Atomic Structure

Author Post
Shalen Boyer Shalen Boyer 5750 Points

My 8th graders are just starting a unit over the structure of an atom and I'm looking for an interesting way to introduce this topic. Usually, we take notes from a PowerPoint and complete the textbook reading. We just ordered a set of molecular model kits this year, but I've never used them before. We have a few weeks before the start of state testing, but I'm hoping to lay a good foundation (and generate interest) for students to pursue chemistry in high school.

Michael Roche Michael Roche 165 Points

With the molecular modeling kits, you can challenge the students to make common chemicals.  Let them know which of the pieces represent carbon and nitrogen and oxygen and hydrogen.  Then you can search Wikipedia for structures of smaller, common chemicals.  There is often an image of a 'model' type structure included so they can compare.  Some of the easier ones: aspirin, cinnamaldehyde, ethanol, benzoyl peroxide, camphor and ibuprofen. 

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points

Have you looked at any apps? Atom Builder allows you to assess your students knowledge of atomic number, mass number, and ions in a review game.

Is atom builder an app for an iPad? We used the Phet simulation as a class since I don't currently have access to a computer lab.

Joni Ingram Joni Ingram 1705 Points

This is a great site for simulations. Select HTML for use on an iPad. Hope this helps, Joni https://phet.colorado.edu/en/simulation/build-an-atom

Joshua Beck Joshua 7250 Points

I like the games that can be played, but I wish that it would send results to teacher to allow for use as an assessment tool.

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points

Yes. Atom Builder is an iPad app.

Dang! We don't have any Apple products in our district.

BRYAN SMITH Bryan Smith 310 Points