Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / introducing new concept to students

Early Childhood

introducing new concept to students

Author Post
Gabriella Hundza Gabriella Hundza 215 Points

When beginning a new topic/concept, what's the best way to introduce information? Should I immediately lecture about information, or should I allow some independent exploration? 

Selena Hernandez Selena Hernandez 200 Points

I would allow for some independent exploration at first that way the students can ask questions about the topic, this will also engage the students to want to know more about the topic, thus allowing you to teach agroup of students eager to learn. 

Akeili Hawkins Akeili Hawkins 1985 Points

Hi Gabriella!

I am a preservice teacher at UNI and have learned that the best way to introduce a topic is to have start with a phenomena. Find something that will get the kids excited and see what they already know about the topic. Then base the information you want to teach off of what they already know.

Samantha Serna Samantha Serna 180 Points

I think this is an excelllent topic to discuss Gabriella!!

Alexandria Teeple Alexandria Teeple 170 Points

Hi! I agree that the best way to start a lesson is with exploration and investigation.  This allows for students to be involved in their own learning process. If they are curious about the topic, that will lead to them wanting to know more. The 'lecture' could also be integrated into the experiment or between experiments—depending on what it is. 

Ashalenia Graham Ashalenia Graham 985 Points