Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Student centered learning

Chemistry

Student centered learning

Author Post
Sulekha Bhasin Sulekha Bhasin 3055 Points

I am looking for student centered activities for high school chemistry  . Thank you for your help and suggestions in advance .

Elizabeth Chuang Elizabeth Chuang 4675 Points

Hi! Although I'm a student teacher, I feel that I can provide some help.

I think that just about any lab you do in chemistry might naturally be student centered or even slightly altered to be student centered. A quick search in the Explore All Resources tab for 'chemistry' with the High School and Lesson Plans restrictions landed me about 8 journal articles for some chemistry concepts.

A quick Google search also provided me with this website: sharemylesson which seems to be reputable, though I wouldn't put too much stake in it without modifying the lessons I get to my students.

Alex Kinder Alex Kinder 1195 Points

I like to do a few things: 1. Think-pair-share: group students in pairs and have them first think about a question on their own, discuss it with their partner, and then share as a whole class. 2. Jigsaw: rather than teach the topic yourself, have students get into groups of 2-4 and have them read/research a topic on their own and come up with a way to teach it to the class. This is beneficial not just for the students they are teaching, but also themselves. Research shows that teaching a subject is one of the best ways to learn a new topic. 3. Research projects: I assign one major project a quarter that students research in pairs and then present to the class.

Evelyn Duarte Evelyn Duarte 855 Points