Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Scared of Science

New Teachers

Scared of Science

Author Post
Julia Norford Julia Norford 60 Points

Hi there! I am a new teacher and will be completing my master's in elementary ed. next year. I currently work as a reading intervention teacher, so I do not teach any science, but will be teaching science in the future when I most likely become a classroom teacher. When I was in school, I really disliked STEM, and always dreaded it. I had trouble learning math and science concepts, and convinced myself that I was just bad at STEM and would never learn. I have slowly come around to understanding and liking math, but I am not quite there with science. This being said, I do not want my fear/dislike of science to come across to my students - I want them to love science and look forward to it! Does anyone have tips/advice on making science fun, engaging, and approachable, when I might not feel that thrilled myself? I think science is the most fun when it is interactive and hands-on, but that is not always possible for every lesson. I'm hoping that as I start teaching science, I will start to understand it more and enjoy it! 

Camille Brown Camille Brown 1801 Points

Hi there! Congratulations on pursuing your master's in elementary education and on your upcoming role as a classroom teacher! It's great to hear that you are already thinking about ways to make science fun and engaging for your students, even though you may not feel thrilled about it yet.

Firstly, remember that your personal preference or experience with science doesn't have to define how you teach it. The fact that you disliked it in the past can actually work to your advantage. You can bring a unique perspective and understanding to the subject, which can help you tailor your teaching approach to your students' needs.