Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / More online engagement!

Early Childhood

More online engagement!

Author Post
Helen Rodriguez Helen Rodriguez 275 Points

Hello, I am a student over at FIU, and my biggest concern is online engagement. How can I get my kindergarten students to be more talkative? I've tried paring the students up and working as a group but when I go and check on them, I see no talk. I really like this new way of teaching and I think it is important to continue to include this new remote teaching into zoom. Any ideas?

Susana Valdivia Susana Valdivia 845 Points

Hi,I work with VPK and similar to what the previous reply said the best why to get them to interact in my experience is to have movement and fun activities. For example last week we were working on the letter S and we had student prepare sandwishes to eat during class. They shared what they had in their sandwishes and once they break the ice with talking once at least during class they get more comfortable with doing it again later on during class. We have one student be the weather reporter everyday so they take a moment to go to their window and come back to share with the class what the weather is like today. We have really fun or silly question of the day and when they answer you can ask them to explain their answer. We've had parents buy some basic craft materials like paper, glue, crayons, paper plates so children do art projects and share through the screen to their friends what they made. 

Anna Hermida Anna Hermida 418 Points

Hi Helen,