Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Student Teaching

New Teachers

Student Teaching

Author Post
Katlyn King Katlyn 655 Points

Hello! I will be student teaching in the fall and would love some tips on teaching amazing science lessons. I will be in a third grade classroom and I hope to teach the students a lot about the world around them. I have been teaching science lessons this semester to a fifth grade class and while it has had its challenges it was also fun and the students keep asking me when we will be doing science. The lessons that I have been doing with them have been an hour or two long, but not very realistic when we get our own rooms. If anyone has any tips on teaching science or teaching in general it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Ashley Gil Ashley Gil 3415 Points

[ol] Hello, My name is Ashley and I am a current student at Saint Peter's University studying education. One really cool experiment that I found that is really cool and easy is Summer Cloud Science. You can easily show your kids with a few simple materials to show them how rain works. You’ll need shaving cream (use the foam kind, not gel), a jar, water, and food coloring. 1) Fill the jar almost to the top with water. 2) Cover the top with a “cloud” of shaving cream. 3) Let your students drop food coloring into the cloud until the color starts “raining” into the water below. Explain that this is how rain works too. The water collects in the cloud until there is too much, and then it leaks through, forming rain. Here is the link to the website: http://thehappyhousewife.com/homeschool/summer-cloud-science/ '' target="_blank"> http://thehappyhousewife.com/homeschool/summer-cloud-science/ ' target="_blank"> http://thehappyhousewife.com/homeschool/summer-cloud-science/ [/li] [/ol]

Barbara Force Barbara Force 1335 Points