Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / 3rd Grade 5E Mixtures Lesson Plan

Elementary Science

3rd Grade 5E Mixtures Lesson Plan

Author Post
Cecilia Gutierrez Cecilia Gutierrez 1810 Points

Hello, I am a student teacher and I have created a 5E lesson on mixtures. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how I could improve my Explore.  Currently, I have students creating their own trail mix and as they are working they are supposed to be thinking about why what they are creating is called a mixture. I feel like this single activity may not be enough exploration.

Thank you in advance!

Kathy Renfrew Kathy Renfrew 37148 Points

Hi Cecilia,

I was wondering what grade level you are working with. If it is 5th grade which is where the standards would deal with mixtures I have lots of ideas. I will wait to hear back from you.

Kathy

Ms. Renfrew, 

I am working with third grade and the standard for my lesson is 'The student is expected to explore and recognize that a mixture is created when two materials are combined such as gravel and sand and metal and plastic paper clips.'

Cecilia

Here is my full lesson plan rough draft:

Peggy Ashbrook Margaret Ashbrook 10963 Points

If your students are hikers and have had previous experience eating trail mix snacks, then reading a book about hiking for engagement could lead to a discussion about mixtures. But unless you know this about the class, an engagement more directly about a mixture could be more effective. Also—does your school allow food, other than student lunches, to be used in teaching?

How will you elicit students’ prior knowledge?

What mixtures are common in your students’ everyday life? A loose change jar, breakfast cereal, or a bag of hair clips and ties?

If no student has allergies to nuts, students could observe and sort a spoonful of a bird seed mixture as you read a short book about birds such as Collard and Brickman’s book, Beaks!