Forums

Forums / General Science and Teaching / Advice on Graduate Degree

General Science and Teaching

Advice on Graduate Degree

Author Post
Christian Ledesma Christian Ledesma 90 Points

Hey folks, I've been a classroom teacher for four years, a part-time science teacher for two years, and full-time science teacher for three years now. I was moved into the Science position because, basically, it was a needed spot at a new public school I helped to found and I had some experience teaching science. I took on the role with lots of enthusiasm and three years later, really want to stay as a Science Teacher. The problem is, my background in science is academically limited. I took AP Bio in High School, Chemistry and Chem Lab in college, and then went on to major in American Politics and Spanish American Literature. I earned my Masters in the Science of Teaching with an Elementary Education focus. I love science and read up as much as I can on my own, take webinars, etc, but would like to further my academic knowledge in order to make me competitive as a science teacher. I've been looking for online Elementary Science Ed programs and can't seem to find any. I would appreciate any and all suggestions.

Kathy Renfrew Kathy Renfrew 37148 Points

Christian, I think it is great that you want to learn more in the area of science. I am very impressed you figured it out with only four years experience. I got my Masters in Science Education but as a second M.Ed but I was around 20-25 years into my career. I actually have a suggestion. It is Lesley College in Boston, MA. They have an online Masters in Science Education degree. I have two colleages who were part of this progra and cannot speak highly enough about it. Here is the link so you can check it out. If after looking , you are interested, I will connect you to one or both of them. http://scienceonline.terc.edu/ At this link, it tells you who to contact. I know Sue Doubler also. I hope this was helpful Kathy