Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Including Technology in Science Classroom

Elementary Science

Including Technology in Science Classroom

Author Post
Abigail Schiller Abigail Schiller 80 Points

Hello, I am Abigail Schiller a pre-service teacher from Wartburg College. I know technology is an important part of teaching today. What are ways to incorporate technology into your teaching? And has it improved student engagement?

Abigail Schiller, Pre-Service Teacher 2020

Gustavo Sanabria Gustavo Sanabria 525 Points

Hello Abigail,

I feel that one of the ways in which you can incorportate technology into teaching is by using a smartboard in an interactive way. One example could be a jeopardy game 2 days before a unit test. This allows for the students to review the material that they will tested on as while still having some competetive fun. 

-Gustavo

Natalie LoBianco Natalie LoBianco 3248 Points

Hello Abigail! My name is Natalie LoBianco, and I am a pre-service teacher at the University of Northern Iowa. I have had wonderful opportunities to explore and create various forms of technology in a number of my courses at UNI that I can incorporate into my teaching. Specifically, in my Teaching Elementary School Science course this semester, we have used iPads almost every class period to gather our thoughts and findings and share them with our teacher and peers. The app we used the most was called Seesaw, and I highly recommend it. In  this app, each of my classmates and I created our own Digital Interactive Science Notebooks. In these, we were able to type responses to various questions my professor would ask during her presentations, and submit it directly into the app. If you did not prefer to type on a tablet, you could also upload documents that you typed on your computer, or take a picture of your handwritten notes, and submit it in the app. Our class particularly enjoyed taking pictures and recording videos while we conducted different labs throughout the co