Forums

Forums / STEM / What does STEM teaching look like?

STEM

What does STEM teaching look like?

Author Post
Alison Wright Alison Thalmann 16435 Points

I had a wonderful conversation yesterday in Sacramento at the CSTA Annual Conference with Page Keeley around the origins of STEM, and was inspired by my conversation with Jeff Weld in Baltimore last week at the NSTA Regional Conversation on creating a stem culture and building school-business STEM partnerships. As anyone who knows me and/or has seen my posts, I am a big fan of collaboration and believe strongly that it will take us all for there to be success for all.  We would love to hear your thoughts on what STEM teaching looks like to you, and encourage you to share this link with others to join the conversation and share their best practices. Thank you for all that you do to engage all students in science!

I am a college student studying Elementary Education, specifically Middle School. I love the sciences and fully believe that STEM teaching needs to always be referred to as STEAM teaching. Science, technology, engineering, and math come to life through artistic designs and creative fire! From my classroom experiences and discussions with professors, STEAM teaching is implementation of constructivist methods and strategies. Grading on skill and effort towards meeting objectives; over the "correct" answer, allowing for the final products of projects to be presented differently, and linking subjects through cross-curricular approaches are a few examples of what I believe STEAM teaching truly looks like. Though these examples require more effort from the teacher to grade, organize, and structure, I think it is the best way for students to learn and ignite interest in the future of STEAM programs! How do general education teachers who are in the field view STEAM teaching? What about science or art specific teachers? How are these programs changing how you teach?

Alison Wright Alison Thalmann 16435 Points