Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Differentiation

New Teachers

Differentiation

Author Post
Emily Downs Emily Downs 170 Points

I am a preservice teacher and I was wondering how I could differentiate a certain science lesson while still teaching the same concept to the whole class?

Bo Cheli Bo Cheli 60 Points

There are a few variables you can play with to differentiate science lessons in class. You could switch up your presentation of the material. So instead of straight lecturing, you can show video clips/lessons or provide hands-on tools and activities. By varying your method of presenting the material, you will keep students more engaged in class as well as give them more experiences to draw on the remember material.

You could also switch up the format of your class. Can you do stations in your classroom? Basically you would create the appropriate number of stations so that you have about 5-8 students per station, and students would rotate in whatever way you plan. If you have some students who need to review previous concepts, you could design stations specifically for that purpose. Other stations could help students dive deeper into a topic with a mini-debate or planning a skit. This format takes more planning, but you can also re-use the basic design for future lessons!

Other variables you can play around with are your homework assignments and learning environment. The second half of this blog post on differentiation has some good ideas. Good luck!

Ruth Hutson Ruth Hutson 64325 Points

Hi Emily,