Forums

Forums / Evaluation and Assessment / Grading and Keeping up with other sections

Evaluation and Assessment

Grading and Keeping up with other sections

Author Post
Patrick Reid Patrick Reid 635 Points

Good evening all, I was hoping maybe I could you ideas on a couple issues I am having. I am a fairly new teacher, so this is something I struggle with. 1. I am being swamped with grading. I do not have a lot of time for grading, but I do not want a lot of gimme grades that have no real muster as to how the student is doing. I don't mind a lot of these in my regular biology, but in my PreAP and especially my AP I want their grade to truely reflect their understanding and learning. We use Interactive Science Notebooking, so a lot of the assignments are done in there, so that also causes a problem when trying to grade work on more than just a completion level. Any suggestions on how to lower my grading amount, but still make the feedback worthy of the time. 2. This is the first year I have started to truely stress about not matching my coworkers grades. Basically, it has been stressed by our admin and my coworker that everything that she takes a grade on, she needs to as well and visa versa. This is not huge issue, until I start to get behind. When that happened in previous years, I would be more selective on what I graded, but now I don't feel like I can. Any suggestions on getting around this? Thanks for any of your suggestions, Patrick

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points