Forums

Forums / STEM / STEM in a Kindergarten Class

STEM

STEM in a Kindergarten Class

Author Post
Brenda Rivera Brenda Rivera 605 Points

I am a student teacher in a Bilingual Kindergarten class. My mentor teacher and I teach Language Arts and Writing in Spanish. I was having some difficulty on how we could incorporate STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) into our classroom. This is when I found a great STEM website- http://teachers.egfi-k12.org/three-little-pigs-design-challenge/ , the one lesson that caught my eye was incorporating a classic book- the Three Little Pigs and a STEM activity to build the houses out of 'straw, wood, and brick'. They would have to make a sketch of the plans and then take it into action. The Big Bad Wolf (a fan dressed as a wolf) would blow the houses and they have to see if there's held on. 

I love how we can incorporate a STEM activity in out Language Arts class. My students will love this!

Ayodele Shofoluwe Ayodele Shofoluwe 545 Points

I think that is a great resource to use to integrate STEM activities into the classroom. I would also suggest using cognates for English language learners to make the lesson more comprehensible for them. I think this will make the lesson more relatable to the students when their native language is used as a tool to convey instruction to them.

Gina Pardo gina pardo 310 Points

I love how you can use the prior knolage and familiarity that they kids have with the story to give explinations in science. This is very creative. I will be checking out the website. Thanks for sharing!!

Shirin Nayani Shirin Nayani 405 Points

STEM

Erika Padilla Erika Padilla 805 Points