Forums

General Science and Teaching

E Textbooks

Author Post
Sandy Gady Sandra Gady 43175 Points

Given all of the budget cuts from the state and from the possibility of lack of levy funding, we are looking at the option of going to e texts, (electronic texts), instead of purchasing physical textbooks. As a middle school teacher, I'm not sure how I feel about it. There are some definite advantages to the students when we don't have lockers and they have to carry everything around in their backpacks. The disadvantage of course is not everyone has internet access available to them at home. While we encourage students that do not to use the local library or come to school early to use computers on campus, the reality is, it is an equity issue. As a University professor with an online Algebra text, I see students fail because they need to have the interaction with the text, being able to thumb back and forth between examples in order to complete the work. I know you can open two screens, but sometimes the screens are small to begin with, and this makes the text even more difficult. I would love to hear how others have dealt with the issue and if there has been any impact on student learning as a result of going to the e-text.

Manuel Vasquez Manuel Vasquez 1950 Points