Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Question: Science content knowledge?

Elementary Science

Question: Science content knowledge?

Author Post

Hi all,

I'm a professor of early childhood education, teaching science methods among other things. I'm looking for a book (or other resource) that focuses on elementary science content. Teaching the pedagogy is tricky when the content knowledge isn't there, and some student are anxious about engaging in science, in part because they feel they don't know enough.

Does anyone have a good title I could to recommend to my students? Something brief, perhaps not 100% comprehensive, but solid? I like this text for social studies content; an equivalent for science would be nice. Ideas?

Thank you all!

Katherine

Daniel Carroll Dan Carroll 18610 Points

Interesting! I would encourage any elementary teacher to focus on experimental design. Ther are some works from a few years ago (cauthron i think). That way, fully understanding content is not necessary. Also, through experiments, science can be a vehicle to deliver reading writing and math content. For inspiration, i would recommend either reading or watching "the pleasure of finding things out" selected writings and interviews with Richard Feynman.

Secondarily and maybe not as diplomatically.... They should just get over themselves. They cant avoid things or choose not to teach them because they dont understand it. If that is he issue, they should choose to not teach at all. That being said, i will find some other reasources. In one way, they should embrace the fact they don't know things. Then they can explore with the children and the kids will also lear "hey... Our teacher lkes learning!"