Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Class Control

New Teachers

Class Control

Author Post
Krysta Armstrong Krysta Armstrong 440 Points

As a new teacher, I think the students will try to walk all over you during class. How can the teacher be sure to have full control of the classroom?

Elyse Juarez Elyse Juarez 725 Points

Hi Krysta! With having full control in the classroom, there are a few things to consider, such as, being firm, but kind as well. Another idea is having a set plan on what is to be expected that day. If the classroom is fun and engaging, I believe that students will respect you and stay focused without causing problems. You also want to be consistent and follow through with things in the classroom. I hope these tips helped!

Kristin Preast Kristin Preast 1670 Points

The biggest thing is LET THEM KNOW YOU ARE IN CHARGE NOT THEM!! Most teachers tend to wait to discipline kids to see how long it continues, that's not how it works. The child or children will keep doing what they do if you don't. Have creative sayings to get their attention and listen. 

Taylor Runchey Taylor Runchey 1005 Points