Forums

Forums / Earth and Space Science / A classroom terrarium?

Earth and Space Science

A classroom terrarium?

Author Post
Christine Medaglia Christine 770 Points

Hi, I was hoping to gain some feedback about making a terrarium as a class project for a 7/8 grade classroom. Some background that I think would be helpful, first. 1. I am a math teacher in an alternative learning program, but also teach one science class, so, my strengths aren't necessarily in science. I have 9 students. 2. My thumb is not green, it's the opposite of green. 3. I have a fish tank, a water supply and lots of willing students. (They love project-based learning and take pride in things they have a hand in creating. The idea for a terrarium came from several places. For starters, I found a huge fish tank in a cabinet when I moved into my current classroom. And secondly, my coworker teaches the rest of our program's students and he has a garden that the students maintain. My students feel a little left out that they don't really have anything to call their own. Hence my idea of a terrarium... With that being said, I think it's completely possible to create and sustain a terrarium in our classroom, I'm just not really sure how or where to begin. And that's where you all (hopefully) come in! Has anyone had a classroom terrarium before? Is it even possible to have a classroom terrarium? Is it too messy? Will it sustain the students' interest enough? Will the terrarium be interactive enough that the kids learn useful skills from it? This math teacher thanks you in advance for all your wonderful ideas :) Christine Medaglia Waipahu Intermediate School

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

Try doing a search for "bottle biology" and you will find several articles about terrariums in bottles. It should be easy to adapt these ideas to a large form such as your fish tank to a terrarium. Good luck.

Carolyn Mohr Carolyn Mohr 92276 Points