Forums

Forums / Pre-service Teachers / How to help kids love science?

Pre-service Teachers

How to help kids love science?

Author Post
Diana Cuellar Diana Cuellar 790 Points

As a pre-service teacher I'm looking for advice on fun lessons/activities for the first few weeks of school geared towards kids that are afraid that science might be too difficult for them. I would love to help kids learn that science is fun and enjoyable.

Lauren Apodaca Lauren Apodaca 345 Points

I went straight in with hands-on activities! STEM challenges like 'Save Fred' or even just playing with microscopes and slides.

Kaylyn Hoth Kaylyn Hoth 670 Points

Hi Diana, 

I am also a preservice teacher and I am currently in Science Methods. Through this class, we have had the opportunity to teach many different students of many different grades. What I have found through these experiences is that the students love hands-on learning. When students are able to do rather than sit and listen they are going to be much more engaged in whatever you are teaching. 

Kaylyn Hoth Kaylyn Hoth 670 Points

Hi Diana, 

I am also a preservice teacher and I am currently in Science Methods. Through this class, we have had the opportunity to teach many different students of many different grades. What I have found through these experiences is that the students love hands-on learning. When students are able to do rather than sit and listen they are going to be much more engaged in whatever you are teaching. 

Anne Devecchi Anne Devecchi 180 Points