Forums

Forums / Early Childhood / Fun Science!

Early Childhood

Fun Science!

Author Post
Avery Byars Avery Byars 190 Points

I am a preservice teacher and I am looking for ways to interest kindergartners in science. This is many of the kindergartners first true experience with science and I am hoping to spark a lifetime of science loving in many of them. The school does not devote much time to science compared to some of the other subjects, so I am looking for new ways to get the students excited for the little amount of time I do have with them and the days they do have science! Thanks!

Sarah Benton Feitlinger Sarah Benton 1775 Points

Kindergarten is a great age to teach science. The world is still very new to these kids. Science is integral in so many other things that you won't find it difficult to provide experiences even when it isn't officially science time. Things that they can watch and observe in the classroom each day are perfect for kindergarten- plants, butterflies, weather, etc. Check out these resources that I think are super useful for teaching early childhood science: http://www.shareitscience.com/2016/01/best-books-for-teaching-preschool-science.html

Gabrielle Goeller Gabrielle Goeller 835 Points