Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Elementary Science Experiments

Elementary Science

Elementary Science Experiments

Author Post
Kelly Morris Kelly Morris 290 Points

Hello! I am a student teacher at PSU Harrisburg and I want to become a first grade elementary teacher. When I become a teacher, what types of experiments can I do that are safe, easy and fun to do with the students? For example, what type of experiment ideas can I do with a unit on Plants and Animals or even Weather? I believe students need that hands on element when it comes to science and experiments are the perfect way to make it hands on! 

Matt Bobrowsky Matt Bobrowsky 6410 Points

Kelly,

The first thing you might want to do is look at NGSS to determine what would be appropriate learning goals.

You could then look for some lessons integrating NGSS on the Web.  You might have to make some slight modifications depending on your specific situation.  Here's one place to look:

https://www.generationgenius.com/trial-d/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=ngss%20science%20lessons&gclid=Cj0KCQjw5-WRBhCKARIsAAId9FkjE9V8BJ07FhhY6mKLGKzTK-tM_Z57n0PxedAvIcICWdDSkNm9aqgaAq3PEALw_wcB

Does that help?

Matt

Peter Ower Peter Ower 140 Points

Hi Kelly,

Hands on activities are a way to increase engagement and excitement about science. As you search for interesting activities, consider what Matt said in his reply to you: contextualize them within NGSS at a level that is appropriate for the grade level, the phenomenon, and the storyline. A good guide for this are the SEP progressions. These show you the level that is expected and appropriate for each grade band.