Forums

Forums / New Teachers / Getting Parents Involved

New Teachers

Getting Parents Involved

Author Post
Kaylee Hamilton Kaylee Hamilton 200 Points

Hi all! I am a preservice teacher, and I am wanting to learn some fun and creative ways to get parents involved in their children’s science education. I want to encourage them to promote science learning in their everyday activities. Any ideas for how to get them started? Thanks!

Pamela Dupre Pamela Dupre 92369 Points

When I first began teaching, I would ask a handful of parents to help me do some experiments in the classroom once a week. In order to know who to ask, you need to create some sort of parent survey that you can send home. Ask them what skills they have that they could share with the children. You can also ask children what types of jobs their parents have. Ask them if they would be able to come to school during the day for about an hour to assist with science. Have task cards made up for each parent so they can refer back to it to know what you expect them to do. I always put an asterisk by the sentence-"Do not tell students the answer." I ask parents to attend field trips and make sure they know they have a responsibility to keep track of their assigned group and keep them safe, andfollow the agenda. Now, I host STEM nights and have parents assist with some of the experiments. They also fill out a survey at the end asking what they liked the most, what do we need to improve on, etc.

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Kaylee--
Most parents want to be involved, but some may need some suggestions on what to do, especially if they are not sure of their own science background. You might find some ideas in this blog: Science 'home work' for Interested Students.
Mary B.

Vanessa Manrique Vanessa Manrique 280 Points

Thank you Mary, the blog has good ideas.

Kaylee Hamilton Kaylee Hamilton 200 Points

Thank you, I will definitely check it out!

Jessica Holman Jessica Holman 2170 Points

Kaylee!