Forums

Forums / Elementary Science / Limited supplies

Elementary Science

Limited supplies

Author Post
Mary Milligan Mary Milligan 685 Points

One o my biggest fears is that I will not have the resources or materials to make a child's learning experience all that it can be. Are there any suggestions to make science still fun and engaging, even though the right materials and resources might not be available?

Mary Bigelow Mary Bigelow 10275 Points

Hi Mary--
I can understand your concerns. In the perfect world, we would have access to whatever we teachers need to help students learn. The good new is that there are many science activities that can be done with basic objects. Check out this blog on Low-budget (or no-budget) science.
--Mary B

Dale Merritt Dale Merritt 800 Points

I am new to teaching science in elementary school. Thanks for putting up the Low Budget Experiments.

Betty Paulsell Betty Paulsell 48560 Points

The blog that Mary suggested has a lot of good ideas. One thing the blog suggested is not asking students to bring things from home. It is true that would be a hardship for some families but asking for paper towel and toilet paper tubes doesn't cost anything and they can be used in lots of science experiments. Many other things that go in the trash or recycle can be used in science. Another great place to get stuff for you science class are garage sales. I have found wonderful treasures there for very cheap prices. If you say you are a teacher looking for classroom supplies they will frequently give you the stuff cheaper or free! Also another good resource is the Dollar Tree Store if you have one near you. Recently I purchased all the supplies I needed for a Force and Motion workshop I was doing for a local school district at the Dollar Tree Store!! Good luck in your careers!!

Cris DeWolf Cris DeWolf 11965 Points