Forums

Forums / Chemistry / Safety in the Chem Lab

Chemistry

Safety in the Chem Lab

Author Post
C M Cameron Mackowski 540 Points

I am a preservice teacher that will be joining the work force next school year. I am very excited but I still have a lot of questions regarding safety in the classroom. I know all of the basics and what to do in emergencies, but there are two things that I still struggle with:

1. Safety contracts.
  2. Laboratory Inspections.

I am hoping some of you can shed some light on these topics. What are some good examples of safety contracts and the most important information to include? What is the best method to hold students accountable for these contracts to ensure their safety?

What are the criteria for annual laboratory inspections that faculty have to deal with? What issues present a problem to you the most that you may have some advise about?

Thank you!!

Emily Faulconer Emily Faulconer 5755 Points

Cameron - 

Your state or school district may have a Chemical Hygiene Plan (or similar document) that addresses laboratory inspections and other safety concerns. Here is a link to the Florida public schools document. 

The American Chemical Society has a Science Coach program. You could seek a mentor through this program to work on safety at your school. I served as a mentor 2 years ago and focused heavily on safety with my mentee. 

Cristina Welch Cristina Welch 410 Points

1.) Check to see if your school district has a contract that they require you to use.  If so, use theirs, but keep a list of suggestions that you have for revisions in the future.  Also, I have heard people say that general contracts, that are not too specific, might be better in the event that there is an accident in your classroom (liability purposes? not sure)